NCAA Eligibility

The NCAA Eligibility Center verifies the academic and amateur status of all student-athletes who wish to compete in Division I or II athletics.

College-bound student-athletes, who want to practice, compete and receive athletically related financial aid during their first year at a Division I or II school need to meet the following requirements:

  • Graduate from high school.
  • Complete a minimum of 16 core courses
  • Earn a minimum required grade-point average in core courses.
  • Earn a qualifying test score on either the ACT or SAT.
  • Request final amateurism certification from the NCAA Eligibility Center.

For Division I student-athletes who will enroll in August 2016 and later, the requirements to compete in the first year will change. In addition to the above standards, prospects must: (More Information)

  • Earn at least a 2.3 grade-point average in core courses.
  • Meet an increased difficulty¬†sliding-scale standard
  • Successfully complete 10 of the 16 total required core courses before the start of their senior year in high school. Seven of the 10 courses must be successfully completed in English, math and science (This is standard at Benedictine).
  • Prospects that earn between a 2.0 and 2.3 GPA and meet the current sliding scale standard will be eligible for practice and athletically related financial aid but not competition (New-Red Shirt Option).

Division III college and universities set their own admission standards. The NCAA does not set initial eligibility requirements in Division III.

Additional Resources

Core GPA Calculator created by Mr. McMillin

List of Benedictine’s Core Classes¬†¬†(CEEB 361195)

Free NCAA Eligibility webinar for Parent and Students

NCAA Website for Prospective Students

Class of 2016 information